What's new

Using router mode Double Nat instead of AP on 86U?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mouse4

New Around Here
Hello folks,
I am fairly new to all network setups. Up until recently it's been super basic setup. Been using my ISP box and using a RT-AC86U in AP mode for my wireless. Recently I started sharing my connection with couple neighbors. This got me into looking at my setup as I wanted to be able to monitor the bandwidth the are using and limit speeds and possibly services on the wireless side, specifically for the 2.4ghz band which is the connection I let guests connect to.

I recently replaced my ISP router with a Pfsense box, which does let me see things on a client to client basis. And I started to look at my Wireless and realized there isn't much that can be done in AP mode. I can't set bandwidth limits for the guest network, can't monitor anything except IP's and see connections. So I thought, I'd switch the wireless to Router mode and disable NAT so I can do some of this stuff. Well I can't seem to figure out how to get this working, mainly because it seems I can't have the wan and LAN on same subnet? I imagine most likely I just don't understand something properly and this is probably a dumb question, And I apologize if this is the case or if I have missed some obvious post or info somewhere.

At the moment the only two ways I have been able to use it is as AP mode and Client mode, neither of which seem to give me much control. I was hoping maybe someone could help me out.

Here is how to double NAT your routers. Both can't be on same subnet.

Attachments

• How to double NAT two routers.txt
    4.9 KB · Views: 397
Hello folks,