What's new

VPN Router Help!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Cream

Occasional Visitor
Hi Folks,

Bit of a noob here and I really need your help. So I got a Netgear R7000 just for Expressvpn (this is my first VPN setup). I am on a 100mbps connection (FTTC) - get up to 90 download and I was only getting a little over 40 on the router with the VPN, this using Expressvpn's own Lightway protocol, but changing it to OpenVpn I only get around 20 download. I did not know this that the router is maxed out at that because of its hardware. So after doing research I saw that I needed a AES-NI router but Expressvpn don't have any of their firmware for any AES-NI VPN routers so it would have to be OpenVpn on another router. I like their firmware as it gives you a dashboard that makes to so easy to jump between vpn servers and have many enabled at the one time - which I found out was split tunnelling. So basically if I want an AES-NI hardware router I have to go to Asus, I am looking at 2 models the ASUS RT-AC86U and the ASUS (GT-AC2900). I cant confirm with Asus if they have hardware AES-NI built in and Asus don't say they give any support for split tunnelling - I think they don't know their products at all!.

So my first question is do both these routers have AES-NI hardware built in? Also with the GT-AC2900 you get VPN Fusion which from what I have looks like a simple way to setup split tunnelling and the Asus RT-AC86U would need Merlin to do this but I don't know how easy it is to jump between vpn's on Merlin.
I need the ability to setup multiple active vpns, and use some of them with the same devices like my PC, Phone and Tablet, then jump back too my ISP with no vpn while I have an active for my Amazon Echo devices.