What's new

What blocking scripts to install?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Henrik!

Occasional Visitor
Hi all

I'm new to this firmware so forgive me if I'm asking stupid questions.
I installed the 380.67 Beta3 firmware on my AC68U (Rev. A1) with no problems and all seems to work and good performance.

I would like to install some of the blocking scripts, but do they overlap or should I just install them all ?
Primarily I want to block outside and in (Bots and other probing attacks). Second blocking for ads and malicious sites inside and out.

I have looked at these scripts:

Skynet (Block. from inside or outside or both?)
iblocklist-loader (Block. from inside or outside or both?)
AB_Solution (Ad blocking from inside)
ya-malware-block (Ad blocking from inside)

Maybe I just need Skynet and AB_Solution ?

I have a little problem finding out what actually to use, they all seem very good, but maybe they block the same things ?

Best regards
Henrik

AB-Solution is a pure ad-blocker. If you want that, this is the one.
All other scripts you listed are firewall scripts, mainly to block malicious attempts from the outside.
They all work well with AB, but don't install more than one firewall script.

I have a little problem finding out what actually to use, they all seem very good, but maybe they block the same things ?

AB_Solution (Ad blocking from inside)

AB-Solution does just as the name suggests, blocks ads from hosts files downloaded. It's a different category per say to the other scripts listed and the best (only?) public adblocking script for this firmware by far.

Skynet (Block. from inside or outside or both?)