What's new

What can reduce Gigabit maximum theoretical speeds ?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

enr00ted

Regular Contributor
Update 1:
- Changed network image (For some reason the Jumbo frames option was not active in my Laptop). Increase in speed but still below maximum.
- Added switch configuration images.
- Added NAS configuration images.
- Added technical specs for laptop/nas.

Hi everyone,

I believe this has been discussed for a long time, but how can someone benchmark his own lan ? I mean how can one find the bottleneck if any ? Also I am not a network expert nor I have too much experience as I've only recently switched to Gigabit and playing with it. How much of the theoretical speed do you actually loose ?

A small test case I've been doing, a common task in my home lan:
- Windows 8.1 upt-to-date
- All up-to-date firmwares
- Up-to-date DSM on Synology (2 HDDs, RAID 1, the mirroring one)
- Large file test > 700 MB (to test the maximum limit)

untitled.png

Laptop/Nas specs:

Captura_43.png

Switch configuration:

Captura_35.png

Synology DS213j configuration:

Captura_41.png

So, Gigabit has max of 1000 Mb/s right ? That is 125 MB/s aproximately right ? What is the reason that I am so far away from that value ? Is it the cable ? The multiple hops ? The HDD/SSD ? The RAID ? The specs of my equipment ? Maybe these are normal values to be expected ?

Last edited:
I use softperfect ramdisk to create a ramdisk and than transfer files over the network to another ramdisk.

Make sure to use good cables not the copper clad cables and keep them away from intereference like electricity.

Make sure your NICs are configured properly and that both systems have a fast enough CPU.