1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

what do each of the interfaces in merlin translate to?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Evan Richardson, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. Evan Richardson

    Evan Richardson New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    I'm trying to set up collectd + grafana + influxdb to monitor my network equipment, but am having a hell of a time figuring out merlin/asus interfaces. I apologize in advance, but I tried searching google and on here and only came up with eth0 being WAN, nothing else.


    I have the following on my RT-AC68U:

    br0
    eth0
    eth1
    eth2
    lo
    tun21 (openvpn)
    vlan1
    vlan2


    Can someone help me figure out which each of these translate to? Since eth0 looks like WAN, what does br0 and the rest translate to?

    Thanks!
     
  2. mstombs

    mstombs Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    530
    br0 is the LAN bridge, eth1 and 2 the wireless interfaces
    The 5-external port Ethernet switch is split by use of nvram params and the Broadcom switch driver into vlan1 for 4 LAN ports and vlan2 for the WAN - in Tomato firmware the WAN port is vlan2, but Asus change and access it as eth0 - but naming conventional fails for dual wan using LAN4?

    Normally vlan1, eth1 and eth2 are bridged into br0

    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# brctl show
    bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
    br0             8000.08606ecbfea8       yes             vlan1
                                                            eth1
                                                            eth2
    lo is local loopback, internal to router.
    If you have pppoe wan connection you will also have ppp0 as a virtual wan interface.
     
  3. Evan Richardson

    Evan Richardson New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  4. highwire

    highwire Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Canada
    The RT-AC87U is different:
    br0
    br0:0
    eth0
    eth1
    lo
    tun21
    vlan1

    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# brctl show
    bridge name bridge id STP enabled interfaces
    br0 8000.382c4aa16228 yes vlan1
    eth1
     
  5. amplatfus

    amplatfus Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    RO
    Please, so in this case what should be the eth for 5Ghz?
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,619
    Location:
    UK
    amplatfus likes this.