What's new

What do I need to learn? (need to design a SAN/NAS up to 300TB))

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Twice_Shy

Occasional Visitor
Hello, i'm totally new here and if my name gives you any clue (once burned, twice shy) i'm somebody who learned the HARD WAY. Now i'm trying to learn how to do things the right way.

To keep this from getting too huge (i'll happily fill anyone in on the boring details if you ask) i'll just jump right in though.

Quick facts:

- I am trying to learn what is necessary to build a series (at least two steps anyways) of NAS/SAN type devices to start at the small end of a shoestring budget (I am a back to college student deep in debt and I expect things to be tight for years) which will do the job until I have the budget and can hire some professional to take care of it

- The purpose of this is Film Projects and Video Game Design stuff. As you may well be aware, data has grown to ginormous proportions. Star Wars 7 for instance has over 1 PETABYTE of work data for it alone. 300TB is a figure I pulled out of my rump but it's not unrealistic, certainly not for 'later' when shooting 4k/8k as opposed to 'now'/that level is not going to be needed for a few years. This is more about growing into it. It may even have to get larger.

- The budget is not zero, but it is not "fully adequate". It's more like there are always higher priority claims on available income or new loans which preferably get spent on things like camera equipment or lens rental.