What's new

What router for small home office?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Georgios Petasis

Occasional Visitor
Hi all,

I want to replace my wireless router, and any advice would have been helpful. I have a small office at home, and in general there are many devices (~20). I have been using for many years draytek routers. They are great, but they have a tendency to break after 4 years (two out of two).
Then I tried a tplink one, it didn't work as expected (I was not able to access home servers from home by using the dyndns address).

Now I am using an asus BRT828. The firmware is not good (the router becomes dead after a reboot).

I am thinking of a tplink AX6000. I like the software (they have a demo in their site), but its 350+ euros.
Features that I need:
1) Stability
2) High wired speed in my wired network.
3) Control in connected devices (mac address filtering) - draytek had this also for wired connections.
4) Many places for "static ips" based on mac.
5) I would like 8 Gigabit ports (or even better, above 1Gbit).
6) VPN (both client & server) (not many)
7) Dyndns
8) Nice looking UI, with many features.

And of course, warranty. This means no ASUS...

Is Cisco Small Business available ?
RV340 or newer might be a reasonable fit.
You can also get around the port issue ( and offload the router somewhat ) by using an 8 port switch.
Look at Coxhaus's threads under /Lan and Wan subforum

A small home office sounds like 2 networks. One network is the office and the other is the home network. If you want to separate the 2 networks then use my example for a guest network on a Cisco L3 switch and call it a office network. If you need a guest network then add another guest network. It should be simple.