1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

What's up with ASUS they been pretty quiet for months?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by rtcomputersinc, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. rtcomputersinc

    rtcomputersinc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Anyone know what's up? Most firmware's are a couple months+ old.
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    UK
    That's because all the bugs have been fixed and the firmware is now perfect. :D
     
  3. dave14305

    dave14305 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    “All your bugs are belong to us.”
    :p
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    they could support guest network on their aimesh nodes!
    Or correct wifi settings (wireless modes) not working since years
    or bridge/repeater modes
    or DDNS with multi-NAT
    or dual WAN
    or download master (super slow and buggy)
    or IPv6 repairing
    or stable client list (perhaps with clients seen within last 1 minute and greyed out seen last hour)
    or or or, so many things not working as they should.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    tallytr and HuskyHerder like this.
  5. Gingernut

    Gingernut Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Things I don't understand is like how the Asus app can more or less show all hostnames in it's client list correctly by default and the router just can't, shows mostly just MAC addresses.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    An RT-AX88U firmware was released a week ago, for starter. I also know they have an update under development for most models, no ETA however (last ETA I had was mid-november).

    There's definitely a lot of work going on right now, including some potentially exciting features coming up.
     
    LimJK, Kitsap, greggy101 and 2 others like this.
  7. sanke1

    sanke1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    IN
    It would have been awesome if they updated the GUI to make it 4K friendly and more responsive.

    But alas... they wont.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    What website is "4K friendly"? This is intended for computers, not for 60" TVs in the living room...

    Feels damn responsive here on my RT-AX88U. Faster than any other router I have ever used.
     
    jerry6 and LimJK like this.
  9. sanke1

    sanke1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    IN
    4K friendly means running on 4K with hiDPI scaling factor of 200%. Asus's router home page has all icons in 1080p. This is why they all look blurry on a 4K screen.


    Pardon us under privileged who will have access to AX88U after 2-3 years. AC88U was available just 4-5 months back on amazon and RT-AC86U has not even released yet
     
  10. rtcomputersinc

    rtcomputersinc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    225

    LOL well I don't have an AX88U yet so i'm not feeling the love on a brand new router offering. Some of the routers FW are 6+ months old. That's a bit of time on the FW front. Understanding that they tend to support devices much longer then other companies (its why I buy their stuff) but kind of keep users up to speed on whats up. Or tell users these products are end of life time to move on. Something that's what prompted me to post this.
     
  11. drabisan

    drabisan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    326
    Come on, set your expectations close to the real world!
    No site is 4k friendly! I have a 4k setup for like 3 years and it is what it is! We are a minority! I wouldn't built my own site for 4k!
    A web server on a router will be as powerful as the CPU dictates savings some cycles for the real work!
    Be reasonable! My 68U is 6yo and it's responsive enough! Not the same as my GT, but ultimately age has a saying! My 70yo mom also is not as responsive as she used to be 30 years agol
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    My point was, CPU power is the limiting factor here, especially when using https, where the previous generation CPUs can struggle with the TLS ciphers. It's not about the web design itself.

    I've had to deal with other routers and embedded devices over the years, and some of them are like 10x slower than even an Asus RT-N66U.
     
  13. rtcomputersinc

    rtcomputersinc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Now more specifically the AX88U how is it working for you? Read a whole bunch of hate in the reviews on this especially dropping wifi. Which has been the MO for every released ASUS router so i'm used to these reviews. How recommended with this one in pre-AX standard is it to buy one? If another standard is agreed on will the AX88U be able to fully support it with a FW update? Thanks in advance.
     
  14. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    Working well for me so far. I had a lot of wifi-related errors in my log a few days ago following a reboot, which were resolved by a second reboot. Only real issue I've encountered otherwise is sometimes the networkmap requiring a refresh to properly populate devices on the Adaptive QoS Bandwidth monitor page.

    Hard to say since I have no idea what kind of changes would still be possible between the current draft and the final ratification. I suspect that, this far in the draft process, it's unlikely that any last minute change would also require hardware changes.
     
  15. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    185
    So are 4 cores really doing anything more for downloading and uploading to the internet? I have GT-AC5300 and a 1G/1G fiber connection and when I download or upload at my max speeds, I only ever see 1 core being utilized. Same on my RT-AC86U.
     
  16. tallytr

    tallytr Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    I would like the Wireless - Roaming block list to accept more than 3 clients, than it would be perfect :)

    You can add devices into roaming block list, and the devices will not be roamed between AiMesh nodes, however, only working with max. 3 clients...
     
  17. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    No. Those cores are useful to running other stuff in parallel, such as file sharing or VPN transfers.
     
  18. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    185
    Yeah, I don't use any of that stuff. Maybe the GT-AC5300 is overkill. Maybe just sell it and stick to the AC86U.
     
  19. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,540
    Location:
    Canada
    The main benefits of the GT-AC5300 over the RT-AC86U are the tri-bands, and the gamer-oriented features. If you don't specifically need either of these, then the RT-AC86U is indeed a more logical choice.
     
    OzarkEdge likes this.