1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

why does Trend Micro need to collect data for Adaptive QOS?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Yipee Kaiyay, May 19, 2019.

  1. Yipee Kaiyay

    Yipee Kaiyay Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    I would understand if they needed to collect data for virus related stuff, but isn't QOS a router specific function?
    Why is Asus allowing Trend Micro to collect your personal data for functions that have nothing to do with viruses, or malware, etc.?

    Should have trusted my gut and bought something else. I really don't like Asus as a company.
    It would be nice if review sites mentioned stuff like this.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,397
    What is stopping you from returning your newly purchased router?

    What was stopping you from learning about it before you bought it?
     
    Dave Parker likes this.
  3. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,884
    you cant ask questions before you even could assume there will be a question at all about it!

    Or would you ask before if they need you to accept only for setting a fix Wifi-channel or something else not default?

    And BTW where can you find an answer to this specific question?
    Asus wont tell you and not everybody is member here before buying an asus router reading all posts for years!
    Even if you do, they changed their rules from one to the next firmware, who could tell you before???
     
    rk8531 likes this.
  4. kishork

    kishork Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    in my opinion there is nothing wrong in this question - these forums are for understanding / learning about what and how and why etc.. and these forums have been immensely useful through the help and support of forum colleagues..

    but i think this

    "

    I really don't like Asus as a company.

    "

    i think this outburst was rather over the top.. Asus is a great innovative company for many of us and these routers are high class where all routers of any company have some pluses and minuses.. i may be wrong but the way i feel..

    Sent from my SM-A800I using Tapatalk
     
  5. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Why not just Switch off trend micro

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,575
    Location:
    UK
    @Yipee Kaiyay This question has already been discussed ad nauseam in these forums. Use the search function to find the answer.
     
  7. #TY

    #TY Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    200
    I don't agree with the Asus being a bad company but I do agree with the point regarding having to enable TrendMicro for a function that has nothing to do with it (unless there's something I'm not aware of).

    Personally, I don't use the AIProtection features and this decision was re-enforced with the recent TrendMicro hack incident and how evasive they are being to what really happened.

    I feel that with Diversion, Skynet, and good old fashion common sense, I should be secured enough.

    It's really too bad because I think the FreshQOS script could be a huge boost to my network but it's attached to some bad karma (TrendMicro) for now :(

    With regards to these forums, they are golden and almost everyone here is a great asset (esp. all the wizards behind the code) ;)
     
    Dave Parker likes this.
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,575
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, there is something you're not aware of. As I said, this has already been discussed at length.
     
  9. rk8531

    rk8531 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    74
    FYI- Netgear R9000 also uses Trendmicro signature database for QOS implementation. I guess all the latest Netgear's AX routers also uses Trendmicro's Signature database for QOS related stuff instead of Qualcomm's abandoned StreamBoost.
    Trendmicro signature database is updated frequently so these days even Netgear is using their services.
    Trendmicro is not limited to Asus alone. :p
     
    Dave Parker and L&LD like this.
  10. Yipee Kaiyay

    Yipee Kaiyay Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    because i bought the router a while ago and didn't need the QOS feature until recently?
    I also read the revew on Smallnetbuilder.com and there was no mention of it.
     
  11. Yipee Kaiyay

    Yipee Kaiyay Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    which is why i'm looking at the Ubiquity stuff.
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,414
    Location:
    Canada
    Adaptive QoS uses the Trend Micro DPI engine to analyze traffic type, based on signature files also provided by Trend Micro. This is how it's able to automatically classify traffic.
     
    Shah Saad, #TY and rk8531 like this.
  13. #TY

    #TY Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    200
    Oh I see.

    Would there be no other to implement QoS or is this more or less the standard that most routers use?
     
  14. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,414
    Location:
    Canada
    If you want something that automatically configures itself, you need a DPI engine and some form of signatures to detect and classify traffic. Otherwise, you have to configure everything manually - this is what Asuswrt's Traditional QoS allows you to do.
     
    Shah Saad, L&LD and #TY like this.
  15. #TY

    #TY Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    200
    Understood.

    Thanks for pointing that out and clarifying :)
     
    L&LD likes this.