1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

WiFi AiMesh disconnects for a few seconds

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by Antise7en, Jun 29, 2018.

  1. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hi All, I recently upgraded my home network to have two ASUS RT-AC68U routers so that i could create a mesh network in my house. Setup was easy and painless and everything seemed to work fine.... but, every so often i notice a blimp of maybe 15-60 seconds where i lose internet completely on Wifi( hard Wired connection always seems fine) . My PS Vue account will stop streaming on the TV and i'm unable to load a website on my mobile phone. by the time i typically close out of the vue app on the Apple TV and reload it the network is back up and when i close my web browser and re open it it comes back up. Or if i switch from our 5ghz to our 2.4ghz they work fine. on the IPhone the wireless symbol stays consistent and doesn't show any loss of signal. on the apple TV i get a pop up that says network was lost. This typically happens once or twice a day. and when the wifi decides to work again i'm typically getting around 20mbps on all devices with full bars. I've tried to load up the ASUS app on my phone and log directly into the router UI to get an indication on what is going on but i'm have very little success. here is what i gathered from the log this morning when it happened:


    • Jun 29 07:29:38 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi:
      -52dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:A2:4A:FA:FF](rssi: -71dbm)
      Jun 29 07:29:38 roamast: eth1: disconnect weak signal strength station
      [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff]
      Jun 29 07:29:38 roamast: eth1: remove client [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff] from monitor
      list
      Jun 29 07:39:50 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:89:a6:ae:b5] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:39:50 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:c0:a8:a3:61] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:39:50 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:c0:33:bd:31] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:39:55 roamast: eth1: add client [xx:xx:bb:c8:71:19] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:39:55 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:4b:1c:41:00] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:39:55 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:30:75:fe:2e] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:40:00 roamast: eth1: add client [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:42:18 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi:
      -53dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:A2:4A:FA:FF](rssi: -71dbm)
      Jun 29 07:42:18 roamast: eth1: disconnect weak signal strength station
    • [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff]
      Jun 29 07:42:18 roamast: eth1: remove client [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff] from monitor
      list
      Jun 29 07:44:00 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:c0:33:bd:31] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:44:00 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:89:a6:ae:b5] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:44:00 roamast: eth2: add client [xx:xx:c0:a8:a3:61] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:45:25 roamast: eth1: add client [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff] to monitor list
      Jun 29 07:46:08 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi:
      -36dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:30:75:FE:2E](rssi: -73dbm)
      Jun 29 07:46:08 roamast: eth2: disconnect weak signal strength station
      [xx:xx:30:75:fe:2e]
      Jun 29 07:46:08 roamast: eth2: remove client [xx:xx:30:75:fe:2e] from monitor
      list
      Jun 29 07:46:28 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi:
      -74dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:C0:33:BD:31](rssi: -78dbm)
      Jun 29 07:46:28 roamast: roaming reject!!! candidate rssi over threshold(-70dbm)
      Jun 29 07:46:33 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi:
      -53dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:A2:4A:FA:FF](rssi: -71dbm)
      Jun 29 07:46:33 roamast: eth1: disconnect weak signal strength station
      [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff]
      Jun 29 07:46:33 roamast: eth1: remove client [xx:xx:a2:4a:fa:ff] from monitor
      list

    so far i have :
    - disabled Airtime Fairness
    -Roaming Assistant RA cutoff set from -55db to -70db

    with these two settings changed nothing has changed.

    thank you in advance for any help !

    - Ryan



    thanks in advance!
     
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    last 21045 firmware?
     
  3. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    both devices have : 3.0.0.4.384_21045-gb451ba1
     
  4. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    same thing happening again:


    Jun 29 16:49:12 roamast: discover candidate node [xx:xx:BF:AC:96:68](rssi: -64dbm) for weak signal strength client [xx:xx:CB:55:59:CF](rssi: -78dbm)
    Jun 29 16:49:12 roamast: eth1: disconnect weak signal strength station [xx:xx:cb:55:59:cf]
     
  5. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Try turning RA off. I have my RA turned off for now as it was also causing same issues. You may also want to increase the RA RSI level to 78, if you want to persist with RA. In addition, switch off 'Universal Beamforming' as well
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2018
  6. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you! i'll try increasing the RSSI level to -78dBm before i switch it off completely.
     
  7. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    i personally would disable roaming assistant. a quick disable/re-enable of the client wifi will force it to connect to the stronger node.
     
  8. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    looks like disabling RA fixed the issue

    thanks!
     
  9. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    nevermind, still a mess. i'm over the Asus Aimesh i'm going to move onto the Orbi.
     
  10. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    on top of this the system log stopped collecting data. with just these few settings changed
     
  11. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    try configuring the remote router as a repeater instead of aimesh.
     
  12. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    thanks for the help everyone! i've since exchanged the Asus routers for the Netgear Orbi mesh system and i've only had them for a day but i'm pretty impressed so far!
     
    Jose Miqui likes this.
  13. Jose Miqui

    Jose Miqui New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I am experiencing the same exact problem with clients disconnecting / reconnecting and making a log entry indicating that the client signal is low. I have an RT AC5300 as the master router and AC86U as the aimesh node. After doing all the suggestion of dissabeling everything nothing helps.

    If I connect a client to a rj45 port of the AC86U it works fine with excellent speed test and errors at all in the log for this client.

    When I turned off the aimesh node the clients disconnects problem went away.

    However, since the clients signal strength is lower the network speed test is down by 30 percent or so.

    It appears that there no tools to diagnose, isolate and resolve problems with the aimesh configuration. It looks like everyone is using the feature dissable approach as a guessing game. Perhaps this is why ASUS released the product with all those confirmation options.

    There is no technical documentation explaining how to read the log file entries and how the aimesh technology works when you have a 3 bad router mixed with a two band router.

    For example, I noticed that the clients are showing a very strong signal strength for the 5G-2 ssid, I select it and connect fine with the client. When I look at the connections on the main router, it shows the client connected to the 5G-1 ssid.

    A wifi analyzer app on my phone shows one wave fir ssid 5G-1 on channel 44 with rssi of about -60dbm.

    Also, it shows two waves for the 5G-2 on channel 161 which I changed to channel 153 to avoid conflict with other routers. The first 5G-2 wave has rssi of about -58dbm and the second wave overlapping the first has rssi of -20dbm. Is this the way aimesh works?

    The wifi analyzer shows a 90 percent interference for the 5G-2 ssid. When I turned off the ac86U the second wave went away and the interference is at zero percent. Is this normal?

    Summary:
    The first issue is that the aimesh configuration reports very strong rssi for the 5G-2 ssid. However, all clients connecting to the ssid are experiencing random connect/reconnect and the main router log indicate weak client signal detected. The problem goes away when the aimesh node is powered off.

    The issue number two is that there are no documentation available to do quality troubleshooting rather than guessing turning off features.
     
  14. Antise7en

    Antise7en New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hey Jose,

    I have since moved on from the ASUS routers since i couldn't resolve this issue but one thing that has since come to my attention. Are both of your 2ghz and 5ghz networks named the same? I had _2ghz and _5ghz at the end of my wifi name while using the ASUS router and i'm now curious if that was causing an issue. If not already, try making your 2ghz and 5ghz wifi names the exact same so that it can easily switch between them without your devices freaking out.

    good luck, if that doesn't work hopefully it's not too late for you to switch devices. I've since moved to the Netgear Orbi Mesh network and it works exactly as i wished the ASUS network would have.
     
  15. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    USA
    Here is an ASUS rep post discussing tri-band/dual-band: https://whrl.pl/Re6rYx

    OE
     
  16. Jose Miqui

    Jose Miqui New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Antise,
    I read many user's feedback before doing the RT AC5300 installation and 90 percent of the recommended to use unique names for each band. The ideal way of using a single name caused many problems for them.

    As a result, I am using different ssid names for each band.

    It seems to me that everything with aimesh is a trial and error. There are so many settings to try that one can one spend 30 days or more with no progress at all.

    There has to be a technical reference manual with troubleshooting process to follow.

    I believe you made the right decision to move on and get rid of the ASUS aimesh system.

    The current configuration with only the RT AC5300 is running without any errors for two consecutive days.

    However, since rssi signal strengs on the remote clients then the data transfer rate is slower compared to the aimesh configuration. I can live with that for now.

    Perhaps two triband RT AC5300 will fix the problem. Yet, this is another expense just to try one more thing.

    Thx for your feedback.
     
  17. Jose Miqui

    Jose Miqui New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hi OE,
    Thanks for sharing this link.

    The information provided I'd very educational about how the bands are used in an aimesh configuration.

    However, this information did not help me fix the connect/reconnect problem.

    Thanks for your support.