What's new

Asus GT BE98 Bridge Connection Problem

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kaanaslan

Occasional Visitor
Hello,

I have been using Asus DSL AC88U modem with a VDSL subscription for a long time. Today, after many years, I decided to buy a router for the first time. I purchased the Asus GT BE98 model, which I really liked the features of, even though it's a bit expensive but I definitely wanted to get it. I have never used a router before, but I have some understanding of how it works. Today, when I tried to make the connections, I encountered a problem, which is that it simply does not work in Bridge mode. I suspect that the issue may be more related to the DSL AC88U modem I am using. However, I wanted to ask here to make sure.

Normally, just changing the connection type to Bridge should have been enough. Then, by entering the PPPoE settings on the router connected to the Lan1 port and entering the username and password, it should have worked. However, the router does not seem to get the Wan IP in any way in this mode.

After doing some research, I learned that the DSL AC88U does not support VLAN ID in Bridge mode, even though it appears to be enabled in the settings. My ISP needs this to be with the value of 35. This modem has not received updates for years. Could the problem be entirely due to this? During the router setup, I activated the special ISP settings section in the advanced settings and entered '35' in the VID section, but the result did not change. I also don't have another cheap VDSL modem on hand to try.

I can't make up my mind about what to do. I think the modem I'm using should support VLAN in Bridge mode, and despite being a supposedly advanced modem, it doesn't.

I can try two things: