What's new

AX86U OR AX88U Aus

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

fpl

New Around Here
Hi there,
So, i am a newbie (kinda), and wanting to understand the differences of these two routers :

AX86U and AX88U.

On the one hand, the AX86U has a 2.5 gigabit, lower 2.4 speed then its big brother, 4 ports, and no WtFast and no OFDMA.
I kinda like the 88u since it has more power for the 2.4 devices, but i understand the 2.4 frequency is also older and it wouldn't matter much. However, the 88u misses the 2.5 gig port, which i find interesting in connecting a NAS (qnap 253+ or +453) --> i dont know but i am considering purchasing one.

1) my question is : how much will affect me not having ODFMA in the router ? if i went with the 86u ? I only have about 2 mac's + 2 ipads, and other 2.4 and 5ghz devices = total devices = 22

2) Is it worth having the OFDMA in a router ? vs the 2.5 ?

3) Since I have a 1Gb connection Xfinity, and as ARRIS router with 2.5 port and 1Gb port, I intend to connect the AX86u to the 2.5 of the internet router, and use the gigabit ports to my clients (2 macs). Is this the smart way to do it ? or should i just connect the internet to the 1Gb port and that to the 86u ? I have seen my friends get out of the Arris router 2.5 to the 86u about 1154Mbsp in internet. So, my concern is, if i get the 86u i could get speeds higher than 1000gibabit for internet. If I get the 88u --> i get only 1Gigabit and only with link aggregation a combined of 2Gigabit.

But..... my concern is ....is 2.5 gigabit better than OFDMA ?

What if i connect a 2.5 switch on the 86u to connect the NAS and the Macs and use the gigabit to connect to the internet. I will loose the higher speed of the internet ? perhaps yes...