What's new

Captive portal for guest network on RT-AC66U B1

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sirmclouis

Regular Contributor
Hey!

I'm running Asuswrt Merlin on my new RT-AC66U B1 and really happy with it. I'm amazed of all the things I can do with it.

I'm a little noob in the field of building small networks and specially with this router and Merlin.

I have a guess network at home and I would like to know if I can create a captive portal for it in some way or another. On the interface I can't find anything and either I can on the internet. Perhaps are there some script that create this?

Thanks a lot

I have a guess network at home and I would like to know if I can create a captive portal for it in some way or another.
On the interface I can't find anything and either I can on the internet.
Captive Portal isn't available in the firmware/GUI, but not sure if this thread is (still) relevant Wi-Fi Client Directing to URL

Hey!

Sadly the link seems not to be really relevant, or at least not as relevant as before. The NoDogSplash package it's no longer available on entware.

Do you know if it's possible to install it not using entware?

The captive portal requires specific settings for the firmware even after installation.
Personally, I recommend buying a used controllerless enterprise-class ap.
For example ruckus unleashed or aruba instant.

The captive portal requires specific settings for the firmware even after installation.
Personally, I recommend buying a used controllerless enterprise-class ap.
For example ruckus unleashed or aruba instant.