What's new

Couple of questions on latest routers

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ktrdsl23

New Around Here
Newbie here with a few questions.

I'm looking to upgrade the wifi in my home. I live in a 6000 sq ft. (over 3 floors) house built about 5 years ago. My cable modem is in my basement with wired ethernet throughout the home. I probably have about 10 wireless and 8 wired clients connected at a given time. My current setup is an original Time Capsule at the modem location which feeds into a few gigabit switches and an Aiport Express and Extreme (each 3-4 years old) at two different locations which are in bridge mode as access points.

I'm looking to upgrade as it seems wireless technology has come a long way over the last year. I'm willing to go up to $300 or so which seems to offer many choices. I'm debating between the WRT 1900, Nighthawk 1900, Nighthawk 3200 and Asus 68u. I also could hold off a couple of months if needed to wait for any new products to come out. I'd happily save the $100 for some of the cheaper models however I'm certainly willing to spend the extra $100 if it means I'll be future proofed for a while.

I guess my main questions are:

1) Should I get the current latest technology and go with the Nighthawk 3200 or would people recommend something else?
2) Whatever I go with would I be better off locating it at the cable modem so the new router handles all network traffic and continue to use my other devices as access points if needed (obviously won't be ac) or should I leave my Time Capsule or Airport Extreme by the modem to do the routing and just use my new purchase as an access point at the most central location of my house?

Thanks for the help.