What's new

Help!?: Wireless Router --> WAP --> Switch --> Subnet (in shared house)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

porthacking

Occasional Visitor
I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I am a uni student and have just moved in with a friend.

Her internet connection comes in downstairs to a VOIP box and wireless router. She uses wireless to her laptop without any problems.

I am setting up my own wired 'subnet' in my room and would love some advice.

I will run some type of good quality switch (e.g. Netgear GS108T). From it I will have my computer, my backup server, WD Live TV, print server, and possibly a second WD Live TV for the TV in my flatmate's room. This leaves 3 ports.

I need to get the internet to my subnet (my computer isn't wireless). I had hoped to wire it directly from the wireless router downstairs but it wont be possible. I figured I would use a WAP. Is this correct? Or would I use a wireless router? Is this called a gateway?

Additionally, I would like to be able to access my subnet from my flatmates laptop wirelessly as part of VLANs I'll setup on the switch (to access files, but to also access the second WD which will be in her room). Would this happen through the WAP that is providing the internet to my subnet or would I need a second WAP?

I would also like to be able to connect to the net on my iPhone through both the router downstairs and through my subnet. And to use my iPhone as a remote. I imagine for this it would connect to the WAP, or second WAP if I needed one?

Sorry for the long post, any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

Scott
(P.S. My username refers to a river; nothing to do with hacking)