What's new

Linksys Firmware Update Process Change

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

chadster766

Very Senior Member
Linksys is starting to rollout firmware updates to router's that have the "Check for Firmware Update" or "Auto Firmware Update" features in a batch process.

This is a good policy because any major unexpected issues with a firmware can be stopped before too many customer are effected.

The only drawback is that it will take an undetermined amount of time before a good firmware update is available for all users.

Once enough customers successfully have a firmware update then Linksys will publish the firmware update on the website.

Automatic updating is more trouble than it's worth, even for complete novices. They should just scrap it and do like some other vendors (e.g. QNAP) - alert the user that a new update is available upon login but make the user manually intervene in order to actually do the update. If everything is working, there's really no need to update anyway. People that want to update are either 1) having issues or 2) looking for a new feature.

Login? Most users don't often login to their WiFi routers.
There'd need to be a blinky LED - and that probably wouldn't do either!

My WRT1900acV1 is remote, so I don't do auto... I need to plan it with folks on site, and do it late in the evening when the update is available..

wrt1900acv1_updates.png

Login? Most users don't often login to their WiFi routers.
There'd need to be a blinky LED - and that probably wouldn't do either!