What's new

Multiple MAC devices configuration on Netgear GS728TP

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pelletie

New Around Here
Hi to all, My very first posting since I'm really stuck with this problem... I have some knowledge
of LAN and switches but this is first time I have to implement MAC access control in a layer 2
switch.

Here's my topology:
- 3 story high concrete building
- Engenius AP EAP1200 on each floor
- EnGenius AP's configured to have same SSID, same password & fast roaming enabled
- Wi-Fi clients on each floor &, since fast roaming, clients connected on 2nd floor will be able to move
on 3rd floor without reconnecting (fast roaming feature)
- EnGenius AP connected to a Netgear GS728TP layer 2 switch (1st floor on port 1, 2nd floor on port 2
and 3rd floor on port 3)
- Switch port 23 connected to D-Link router

And I want to control access through MAC's since some clients "sharepasswords" from other clients
without being allowed to connect to the system.

So:

a) option A: configure MAC addresses in each AP's => a lot of work managing same MAC
address on 3 AP's

b) option B: configure MAC addresses in Netgear Switch => centralized management of MAC's

So, let's go with option B but here's the problem: unable to configure MAC addresses in switch
(using web interface) since confusion about rule names, rules ID, sequence number, outbound MAC
address, outbound MAC address filter, mapping rules to ports,... Information provided by Netgear
not very instructive...

Obviously, I will have > 40 clients to configure in switch to control access to the system (internet).

So, any help with a detailed description (not a general description) on how to configure