What's new

Need advice on VPN routers

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pschmehl

Occasional Visitor
Total newbie here. Just registered. I'm a retired computer security guy (edu), and I never setup any kind of network like a lot of my peers did. No server racks in my house. No switches. No Cat5E in the walls. Nothing. I have the TWC router (an Arris DG1670A) and a 2.4 and 5 GHz wireless network.

Recently I've been researching getting one IP camera to watch my driveway. That has led me down numerous paths which finally led me here.

I think I want to hardwire my TV and Roku. I have a 200Mbps connection from TWC which tests out to that or slightly more on my Windows 10 PC (which is plugged in to the router) but my wireless connection is half of that for the 5GHz network (on my Mac laptop) and half again for the 2.4GHz network (TV, Roku, some other stuff).

Both my Roku and my TV are on the 2.4 GHZ network, so hardwiring them would provide an instant speed upgrade. (Streaming works fine now, but hardwiring it would be much better.) I can pull the wire and make up the switchplates, so that's not a problem. I have two open ports on my router, so I *could* use one for the TV and Roku (with a splitter) and one for the camera.

But, if I get the camera, I want remote access, so that means setting up VPN. I could do that on my Windows 10 box, but I'm a retired computer security guy, so no.

Since I'm retired, I don't want to dump a ton of money buying all sorts of equipment and building out a huge network that I'll seldom ever use. IF I get the camera, I'll use a PoE injector for that rather than buying a switch.