What's new

network map attached, is anything out of whack?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

superjet

Regular Contributor
I'm trying to decide if its time to upgrade my main router (n66u). I don't have any complaints right now, but im not a pro at networking. Here is a network map of my wired connections and a list of wireless devices and where they connect primarily:

General layout:

Downstairs:
Arris 722 Modem with cat 6 connection (2ft) to N66u
Lan port 1: Workstation/Server gigabit connected
Lan Port 2: Gaming desktop gigabit conected
Lan Port 3: Runs upstairs to 2014 Apple Time Capsule WAN port
Lan Port 4: Runs to D-Link managed switch

D-Link Managed Switch (cat 6 20ft cable run from N66u):
Port 1: extra cat 6 cable
Port 2: extra cat 6 cable
Port 3: extra cat 6 cable
Port 4: Hp printer connected at 10/100
Port 5: Tivo Mini connected at 10/100
Port 6: 60ft Cat 6 run to unmanaged switch
Port 7: cat 6 run back to N66U
Port 8: empty

Unmanaged switch (60ft cable run from managed switch Cat 6 1Gb full duplex)
Port 1: PS3 gigabit
Port 2: Tivo Mini (10/100)
Port 3: Apple Airport Express (10/100 wireless off, just used for airplaying music)
Port 4: connection back to managed switch Cat 6 1Gb full duplex
Port 5: Smart TV (10/100)

Upstairs:

Apple 2014 Time Capsule
WAN port: 1Gb Cat5E shielded 100ft cable run from downstairs full duplex
LAN port 1: Tivo Roamio Pro (cat 6 full duplex 1Gb connection)
Lan port 2: 150ft cat 5e shielded cable run to garage for Airport Express (wireless enabled for backyard wifi and airplay streaming)
Lan Port 3: 5ft cat6 cable run to Linksys smart switch

Linksys 8 Port Smart Switch
Port 1: cat 6 connection from Time Capsule 1GB full duplex
Port 2: Smart TV
Port 3: Blu-Ray Player
Port 4: Apple TV