What's new

Python script on RT-AC68U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

will2383

New Around Here
Hi folks,

Recently picked up an Echo Dot, which apparently does not have a native skill to interact with my LG TVOS 3 television. However, there's this nifty Python script that seems to act as an interpretation layer on a separate system: https://github.com/akhan23wgu/amazon-alexa-lg-tv

I was hoping to try to run this on my RT-AC68U on asuswrt-merlin 384.5, as I don't have any other systems that are 'always' on. I'm a bit of a newbie to custom scripts on Asuswrt-merlin. I've got entware and python installed on the router, but I'm not quite sure how to go about the next steps.

First, does it even seem like this script will run on the router? Second, is it as easy as following this for Python scripts? Just put the
Code:
python alexa-tv.py
in the post-mount shell script after putting everything in its correct place in storage?

If I had a spare router then I'd just go to town on testing, but I don't so I'm a little hesitant to just throw things in there without some confirmation that it's the right track. Sorry if this seems basic.

Thanks!

That's the backup plan, but would prefer to run it on the router if that's at all possible.

Pi3 should be your primary plan - 2 to 4 times the memory, and it has a full-on Linux distro... and the SD Card is going to be faster than NAND on the Router, and you can choose what size from there - 32GB San Disk cards are reasonably priced these days...

Python on AsusWRT is a tight fit at best...