Remote Access

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by asusrocks, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. asusrocks

    asusrocks Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    So I have an iphone and noticed on the AiCloud app i can only access my files on the connected HDD to the n66u. I am assuming there is not an option to view the control panel of the actual router from this app which is fine. I did then decide to visit the HTTPS://xxxxx.asuscomm.com and input my logins in hopes I can reach my router control panel remotely and all I get is a blank screen. Is there something inside the router I need to change to I can remotely access the router? I tried searching on the forums and do not see a DIY or Walk-thru to set up the N66u with remote access. Thanks!
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. asusrocks

    asusrocks Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Can someone provide a link or steps on what I need to do to set up a VPN? I am just looking for a simple vpn since I an new to this type of configuration.
     
  4. Hothersale

    Hothersale Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Canada
    Have you turned on "Enable Web Access from WAN" in the Administration settings under the System tab? After you've done that, you go to http://xxxxx.asuscomm.com:8080 to access the router control panel. (Where xxxxx is the name you chose when setting up AiDisk, and assuming you didn't change the default port, 8080.)
     
  5. Chuck2

    Chuck2 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    BMG, IN USA
    "Procedure (from IBM)
    1. Access your router's Web-based setup page and sign in with the administrator user ID and password. If you do not know how to access your router's setup page as an administrator, refer to your router's documentation.
    2. Determine whether your network uses DHCP (dynamic) addresses.
    o If you have a dynamic network, determine the DHCP IP address range that the DHCP server uses. The location of this information varies by manufacturer, but it will probably be on an advanced networking page.
    If you cannot find this information, see your DHCP server's documentation to determine where it is shown.
    o If you have a static network, choose a set of IP addresses that are not in use.
    3. If your network uses DHCP, choose IP addresses that are not in the dynamic range but are in the same subnet.
    Example: You have a DHCP range and a subnet mask
    Assume you have DHCP range 192.168.254.1 - 192.168.254.99 and subnet mask 255.255.255.0
    The subnet is represented by the parts of the IP address that correspond to the mask parts that are 255. For this example, the subnet is 192.168.254.nnn.
    For the virtual client IP addresses, you could choose any addresses that are not already in use in the form 192.168.254.nnn, where nnn is between 100 and 254.
    Example: You have the DHCP range and a subnet mask, and do not have a static range
    Assume you have DHCP range 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.254, and subnet mask 255.255.255.0. In this example, your DHCP server or router is using DHCP address 192.168.0.1.
    The subnet is represented by the parts of the IP address that correspond to the mask parts that are 255. For this example, the subnet is 192.168.0.nnn.
    This DHCP server does not automatically have a range of static IP addresses. In this case, you would have to modify the DHCP range to create a range of virtual client IP addresses. You could change the DHCP range to 192.168.0.10 - 192.168.0.254. Then for your virtual client IP addresses, you could choose addresses in the form 192.168.0.nnn, where nnn is between 2 and 9."
    I have not used this procedure yet as I don't have a static IP address. If some one has a better procedure, please post so I can use it too.
     
  6. anthonymike721

    anthonymike721 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Why would you like to access your router? Why not computer connected to router? I don’t think there is any program by which one can remotely access a router. I have heard remotely accessing computers through router using various tools such as gosupportnow, Logmeinrescue, GoToMyPC etc. People even access computers remotely by deploying on premise RHUB or Bomgar remote support appliances.
     

Share This Page