What's new

SUPER weird - AC87R - PC torrent - high router CPU usage - Merlin

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

LSL1337

New Around Here
I'm not a network expert, I can do port forwarding, and set up DNS, but that's pretty much it.

I have an 87R router with Merlin 378.55 (not really up to date, i know)

So, I have a gigabit home connection (1000/200)
I just built a NAS, and noticed a very strange behavior.

It runs unraid and torrent dockers. I tried first Deluge, transmission, rtorrent, everything really. They download to an SSD cache, the torrents are very well seeded on a private tracker, but they would only reach 10 MB/sec, and my router cpu would be around 100% core1, 30% core2, my ping to the local exchange would go from 1-2ms to 30-40-50-70 randomly. The router is a bottleneck.

I have QoS disabled, and hardware NAT enabled.

Here is the weird part. I found qbittorrent, and it reaches 100MB/sec without killing my router.
wow, so i use qbittorrent.

And the weirdest thing still.
I try it on my desktop computer (i7, ssd, desktop), qbittorrent on windows, and it has very similiar performance to the other clients. Around 10-12MB/sec my cpu1 is maxed out at 100%, and my ping skyrockets. So same version of the same client with the same settings on a different platform, and they all hammer the router CPU with HW NAT enabled.

When i run speedtest.net for a close server, sometimes i reach 780-820Mbit downstream, which is basicly the max the router can do according to the excellent review posted on this site. (quite dissappointing btw that my pretty high end router can't even route on wired network more than 800Mbit one way...)