What's new

VPN/Security questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jjscott

Occasional Visitor
Before I start, let me say that I’m a novice when it comes to building networks and even more so when it comes to VPN’s, so please bear with me.

I currently have a QNap NAS, Desktop and a variety of other devices connected to my home network and I would like to securely access their content remotely from my laptop & iPhone. I may provide access to a few friends for media streaming purposes. However, I am extremely paranoid about opening up ports on my firewall to achieve this goal.

The QNap device provides several web-based interfaces for access to their services like Multimedia Station, Download Station, iTunes Server, Web Server, etc. Once enabled, each one of these services will listen on a certain port for a request and will in turn serve up its content. I played around with this a little bit – configuring my router to forward the appropriate port to the listening services and it worked. I configured the NAS with a complex password and blocked all ip addresses except the one from my laptop. I even configured it to email me on Error and Warning conditions. Not long after I began forwarding/opening the required router ports, I started receiving warning emails stating that someone was trying authenticate on certain ports. They were denied, but would automatically try again x number of hours later. I’m guessing this was a BOT on a port scan.