What's new

WAN failover routing issues

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

strowger

New Around Here
Hi,

I'm new to Asuswrt-Merlin but I'm reasonably experienced with Linux and networking.

I have WAN failover configured, with my primary WAN being an ADSL router which is attached to the WAN port on my Asus, and my secondary WAN being a Huawei Mifi device which is attached to a USB port on my Asus.

WAN failover does fundamentally work, in that if I pull the primary WAN cable then the secondary connection is brought up successfully.

However, I see a load of odd issues with new connections to hosts on the Internet which were being used during the failover event failing. For example, if I ping 8.8.8.8 from a device on my LAN, and then switch the WAN connection to secondary, the ping does not resume after the switchover - but new connections and pings are initiated successfully.

This points to a Linux route cache problem on the Asus router; I suspect that "ip route cache flush" just after the WAN connection is brought up would help a lot. Has anyone else seen this?

Assuming that I'm looking in the right area, is the best way to do this going to be with a custom script on the wan-start event?

Ideally, I'd also the secondary WAN connection to be kept up all the time, perhaps with an occasional keepalive ping over it, so that the switchover is faster - but this is very much secondary to sorting out the route cache issues.

Thanks in advance for any help.

+1
I have the same experience you have described, but since I don't have primary WAN outages often, I let it be at the moment