What's new

Where to start with automatic scripting for AsusWRT-Merlin

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Undareth

Occasional Visitor
Hi there,

To expand on the subject header; I'm a beginner to home networking and looking to start learning about automated scripting. I've installed amtm through an external USB and I am fairly familiar with navigating around preset scripts and packages (Diversion, Entware).

Was wondering what are some good areas to look into to start learning about automated scripting for my router. To give an example use case, I'd like to create an automated script that alternates the Router's DHCP address so that the network's IP is randomized automatically every month etc.

How does Amtm interpret or read scripts. What packages would i need to invoke if i want to run shell scripts. Anything that can point me to the first steps/

How does Amtm interpret or read scripts. What packages would i need to invoke if i want to run shell scripts. Anything that can point me to the first steps/

First step is post in the correct sub-forum - this one is for general wireless items.

What router do you have?

If the USB stick you're using isn't an SSD used via USB, consider doing so to save yourself the pain of having a 'stick' slowly die and trying to figure out what is going wrong.

Also, study the scripts that are available already. Even if they don't particularly match your needs. The knowledge gleaned will be immeasurable and like nothing else available on the web. (Specifically, the scripts are proven to work with RMerlin-powered Asus routers and current firmware, SDK, kernel, and other specifics).