What's new

WiFi 6 or 6e router for macOS and iOS devices

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

idesign

Occasional Visitor
I need to purchase a new router that will be used almost exclusively with MacOS and iOS/iPadOS devices. I understand this is a bad time to invest in a WiFi 6, 6e, router with the advent of WiFi 7 and I currently own two WiFi 6e devices. I would welcome any recommendations from the community.

A few details:
  • Home internet speed: Paying for Gigabit in reality it’s 311.99 Mbps Download, 650.52 Mbps Upload, 3ms Ping
  • Uses: Heavy Qobuz lossless streaming and I am a professional e-Sports cyclist on Zwift so I need a stable router (some of the Zwift devices cannot be hard wired). This use case is similar to gaming.
  • Computer and device OS used: MacOS Sonoma and iOS/iPadOS 17 (iPad Pro 2022, iPhone 15 Pro, 16-inch MacBook Pro 2019 and 2022, and three devices on network)
  • Budget: None. I eventually want the best of the best home router but given the 6, 6e, 7 router market, I would be open to an affordable stop gap solution like the Velop Pro 6e, AmpliFi Alien, or Asus AX88U Pro,
  • Other considerations: The router will be in a small, open space (550 sq ft) so range does not matter.

Last edited:
Apple shouldn't make a difference in the brand of router or in this case my recommendation of an AP.

6E is pointless unless you're in a sense wifi situation. Even then of you specify the channels instead of auto config you can mitigate interference easily.

I use Zyxel but I'd you're not in the us the omada might be an option.
Gigabit in reality it’s 311.99 Mbps Download, 650.52 Mbps Upload, 3ms Ping