What's new

4+ bay NAS w/btrfs support

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SemiChemE

New Around Here
A NAS newbie here.

I'm looking for an economical 4+ bay NAS with btrfs support. This would mostly be a backup solution for my various devices and computers, as well as hosting your standard (not extremely large) photo and music collections. Cost isn't the biggest consideration, but I'd rather not spend a ton of money on features that I'd never use. On the other hand, as a newbie, I don't want to pass up any must-have features, just because I'm unaware of how useful they are. Ditto for future proofing for a substantially faster network sometime down the line. Most important is the back up capability and organization (hence btrfs and snapshots, which I've used at work and really like). I do think one of these might also motivate me to play around with an IP camera, though that's not a high priority.

I'm leaning toward the Asustor AS4004T, which, so far, is the cheapest system I can find that supports btrfs. PCmag recommends the AS5304T, which has a better processor, more memory, and is probably faster, but seems like overkill for my needs, especially considering that for the time being my home network is 1GBE and does not support link aggregation. I also see the AS6404T, but that's even more expensive and not clearly better than the newer AS5304T. On the Synology side, there's the DS418play, which is in the same price category as the AS5304T. Their lower-cost options do not appear to support btrfs, except for the DS718+, but that's only 2-bay and costs more than the AS4004T.