What's new

About optware, entware and entware-ng

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Gedeon30

Occasional Visitor
Hi everyone.

I just acquired an AC66 B1 and one of my goals is to use it as an emule downloader.

Sadly the download master solution seems a bit crappy and unstable and I'd like to give a try to another amule version, the 2.3.2 (it seems to be available under entware-ng).

And I'm a bit confused about which frameworks/libraries are already installed in the Asus original firmware and in the Merlin version, and possible incompatibilities among them.
I found a few posts but some of them seem outdated, I'm just not sure.

Not really afraid to test things and putting time, I'm just a noob in this specific context (no big issues with Linux, SSH, etc.. but new in routers) and I just don't want to "break" the basic router routines while testing.

Another question is about where to install them. I'd like to use USB storage to avoid problems with flash memory. And if there are some guide to make logs and other temp files to be located in USB instead flash could be great.

Thanks in advance!
(I sadly think this won't be my last question...)

Entware etc is only able be installed on USB media, and it doesn’t interfere with the core router functions.

Just install the latest Entware and crack on. If you’re comfortable with Linux it’s easy. The router functions are just Linux stuff anyway (iptables etc).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Entware etc is only able be installed on USB media, and it doesn’t interfere with the core router functions.

Just install the latest Entware and crack on. If you’re comfortable with Linux it’s easy. The router functions are just Linux stuff anyway (iptables etc).