What's new

Android high battery drain with ASUS RT-AC68U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

WereWolf

New Around Here
Hello...

I have similar problem to that in the post:
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=10048 and it's actually not solved (at least in my case) as the author wrote...

The problem is with high number of wakelocks and high battery drain because of that on the android device connected to ASUS router. Anyway.. from the beginning. I'm not a network expert, so sorry for any mistakes (and also for my English, I know it's not perfect...)

I have ASUS RT-AC68U (with Merlin's firmware) and I've noticed high battery drain on my phone, but actually I didn't relate it to the router at the beginning. I've tried almost anything on my phone trying to prevent wakelocks - frozen/uninstalled dozens of applications etc. but nothing helped. I was fighting with it all the weekend and... nothing. On Monday I went to work and... everything stopped - no strange wakelocks, no battery drainage. Simple conclusion - something with my router settings...
I found that thread and tried the solution with another access point for the android device. I have my old WRT-54GL - I've set it up only as a simple router, within the same subnet as the primary router and it didn't actually helped. I've disconnected WRT from the ASUS, trying to figure out if it's still something from the ASUS router, or maybe because of the noise in the neighborhood. With the android device connected only to linksys everything was fine, so I thought that it might be something sending out by ASUS router to all subnet. I was going to set up linksys as a secondary router with different subnet but I've tried other solution.