What's new

Anything I can do with an old Netgear R7800?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

grcd84

New Around Here
I will be upgrading to an Asus AX88U Pro soon, as I need the 1G capabilities. I am looking into what I can do with my old R7800 instead of selling it on eBay.

I was wondering if I can re-purpose the device to become a NAS and FTP server to access storage devices from home and over the cloud. Is that possible? Will it be as simple as setting it into a particular mode and connecting its WAN port to one of the LAN ports of the Asus? And, finally, would a custom firmware be recommended for this sort of task (e.g. Voxel)?

I am really a newbie, so please be gentle. If I asked something stupid, it was not intentional!

Used to have one but sold it when I built my own router / nas. I'd just sell it and get a sff PC for what you're trying to do. It should be a wash coastwise. The new PC should be more useful interns of speed and power with a better CPU and RAM.

I second @Tech Junky
If you are not using it for routing or as an AP, just sell/donate it.

I will be upgrading to an Asus AX88U Pro soon, as I need the 1G capabilities.

If you have mostly AC clients on your network the new router won’t be $300 improvement for you compared to R7800 - one of the best AC class routers. Don’t count AX capable phones and tablets. They have nothing to do with >500Mbps speeds. I have one same Qualcomm hardware Synology RT2600ac router and won’t trade it for Asus. It’s not going anywhere.

Having had both.... The Netgear stuck around longer and the Synology went back as a return when it didn't perform right.

The Netgear went to pasture due to all of the firmware fiascos that started happening due to QA or lac thereof.