What's new

Asus Aimesh invalid ip addresses

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Oscarracso

New Around Here
Hi Everyone,

I am new to Aimesh. Im Dutch, and i have a Kpn dsl connection. I need to use the modem/router that Kpn provides as tv depends on it. So i installed one rt-ac88 to a port of the kpn modem/router and set it up as a access point, automatic ip. Wifi from the kpn router is off. The next rt-ac88 i setup as a aimesh node to the first one. The connecting to each other works fine. I have the newest firmware on both. Here comes the problem: On some devices, i.e. laptops it works. On some iphones of us too. But on some iphones or ipads it doesnt work. I dont get internet on them, or one page seems to work but 99,8% doesnt. Now when i check the ip adresss of such a device that doesnt work they have received a 169.254.1.234 address. Offcourse that doesnt work as our ip range has 192.168.2.x
All the iphones/devices have the newest software on them. There are also samsung devices in the network and they experience the same problem. Personally i think it has to do that the base aimesh asus router isnt connected to the wan port and it confuses the aimesh setup, but thats only a guess. Any advice would be appreciated.

Make sure your AP is connected to the ISP router through the WAN port.

Update; still 169.* ip addresses in my network.. if anyone has a suggestion.. I checked the dhcp server and it has more then enough room to address ip addresses..

thanks for your reply. I was thinking the same thing so i checked everything but i dont have a device or software that acts as a dhcp server. Also the ip addresses are in an invalid range 169 not a 172/192 or 10 range