What's new

Asus DSL Router - Confusing Terms\Options

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

LookingEye

New Around Here
Hi,

I hope this is right section to post in as this is my first time posting on this forum. I have a DSL Asus router and some settings confuse me and I would need a little bit of help here.

• First, under Wan settings withing Wan -> Internet Connection there is option that says "Enable WAN", what does this option enables ? Is it the DSL Connection itself or something else entirely ?

• I noticed that there is "FTP_ALG_PORT" option with prefilled port within Wan -> NAT Passthrough, does this option opens any ports on the router ? I know that enabling FTP will open a port from the WAN side but what does FTP_ALG_Port actually do ?

• I'm trying to completely close UNPN, I only saw option to disable it within USB Application (Servers Centre) and within WAN -> Internet Connection -> Enable Unpn. Are there any other options within ASUS Routers that I can disable UNPN ? I want to close UNPN from both LAN and WAN side.

• At last, I noticed that when browsing Port Forwarding logs section that one of the ip addresses had "!" in front of it, what does this means ? Also, I saw there was a blank UDP Port, why there would be a blank port ?
I'm not familiar on how ASUS deals with networking on their routers so I would appreciate any input here.
Thanks

• First, under Wan settings withing Wan -> Internet Connection there is option that says "Enable WAN", what does this option enables ? Is it the DSL Connection itself or something else entirely ?
Yes. This just turns the connection to the internet on and off.