What's new

Asus router IP Address location

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Matikitorch

New Around Here
Hello all, this is my first time here, I am in some desperate need of help, I do not know where or who to turn to. I'm pretty proficient with Ethernet and networking at a embedded systems level, almost complete illiterate at a higher conceptual level, when we start talking VPN, WAN, firewalls, etc. I know their purpose, but the terminology throws me off. I purchased a new AC RT66U router and am having difficulties with something... I do not know exactly what is the source of the problem.

I have a Roku device wired directly onto the RT66 router and whenever I launch the Sling TV app, it spins forever and doesn't load. If I connect the Roku to the modem directly, it all works, so this tells me it's a router issue. Going back to when I had the Roku plugged in to the router, I kept getting a 10-610 error message from Sling and when I tried Googling that and going directly to Sling's website the webpage doesn't load and I get a giant error message saying "We're sorry. Sling TV is only available inside the US. Thank you for your interest." I am believing that the Asus router IP address is putting me somewhere outside the US? I checked the router's settings and VPN is off (VPN is one of the few things that I know :D). Can anyone advise me here please? I'm assuming that the Sling TV app doesn't load is because of the same issue, it thinks I'm somewhere outside the US however it's incapable of providing some error code relating to this, so it just spins forever...

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Can you confirm some basic information.

1. You are indeed located within the US.