What's new

Asus RT-ac68P vs TP-Link Archer ax1800

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sludgepickle

New Around Here
First post, network novice here. I have had an ASUS RT-AC68P for a while. It's AC1900/Wi-Fi 5, supports 600 Mbps x 3 streams for 2.4GHz and 1300 Mbps x 3 streams for 5GHz. Thought I'd upgrade to Wi-Fi 6 so I bought the TP-Link AX1800, but just realized it supports 574 Mbps x 2 streams on 2.4 and 1201 Mbps x 2 streams on 5 GHz. Seems like I'm actually going down in speed?? Or am i missing something. I realize the new router offers some things like beamforming and better encryption (see https://versus.com/en/asus-rt-ac68u-vs-tp-link-archer-ax1800 for more comparison. I assume the AC68u is close enough to my AC68P)...but I really just want my stuff fast and reliable.

Home network info: I have a full house of kids and phones and streaming devices and security cams etc... Fing says I have 59 devices connected right now...maybe 40+ are wireless but probably only 5 heavy bandwidth users at a time. 500Mbps internet plan coming through my cable router.

Should I return it and get a tri-band to split out the traffic more and ultimately have better bandwidth per device?

Hi friend, I'm wondering 3 things:
1. why did you switch ASUS to TP?
2. is your house cross-floor? ever considered mesh?
3. have you opened and used the TP AX1800? I guess is TP Archer AX20, right?

Hi friend, I'm wondering 3 things:
1. why did you switch ASUS to TP?
2. is your house cross-floor? ever considered mesh?
3. have you opened and used the TP AX1800? I guess is TP Archer AX20, right?