What's new

ASUS RT-AX59U - Unidentified Wi-Fi Network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Deltamoid

New Around Here
Hi guys, Newbie here..

I have a very simple setup on my Asus RT-AX59U. A home network with WiFi + 2 x 5GHz WiFi guest networks, my 2GHz radio has been disabled. I also have a VPN configured via VPN Fusion along with a dedicated IP.

I noticed in the list of available WiFi connections that there is a WiFi network BDFC1DEFE33962B-F8061A9EDFF93AAD6. At first I thought it may be a neighbours network that is in reach however I found it odd that it had full signal. So I did a bit testing and noticed that every time I switch my router off this network disappear and when my router is switched on again it re-appears. I also noticed that it comes back every time with different letters/numbers after I turn my router on/off. It became obvious that this WiFi connection is connected to my router?!

Confused indeed! Possible hack??? Could someone somehow, a neighbour perhaps have created an additional network on my router that they are using as their own? I know one thing and that is that I dont have access to that connection nor can I see anything on my router that such a network exist.

Could anyone kindly shed some light on this for me. It would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_0420.PNG
    IMG_0420.PNG
    60.5 KB · Views: 30
Why do you have the 2.4 GHz WIFI turned off?

Because perhaps nothing is using 2.4GHz on their network. This is not the problem here.