What's new

At my wits end (XT8 Mesh)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

markpmac

New Around Here
I've been running a AiMesh for 2+ years now, and there always seems to be an issue. Last week, Asus sent me a replacement XT8 node after multiple attempts to troubleshoot via chat and phone. When I received that replacement, I did a factory reset on all 3 (main + 2 nodes) after ensuring all were on the latest firmware. I have a case open with them, but I've consistently received poor support. I've seen a lot of people get help here, so I'm going to try.

All 3 units running on 3.0.0.4.388_21617.

The bottom line for the current issue is this: the two nodes repeatedly get kicked to the 2.4 band for backhaul, slowing everything considerably. If I perform a reboot of the system, the problem goes away, only to return later. What I'm noticing in the logs repeatedly - multiple times per minute - is this:

Dec 17 10:53:13 kernel: Register interface [wds2.0.1] MAC: (MAIN ROUTER 5GHz BACKHAUL MAC)
Dec 17 10:53:28 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(494): eth6: Deauth_ind (NODE "A" 5GHz BACKHAUL MAC), status: 0, reason: Disassociated due to inactivity (4), rssi:-54
Dec 17 10:53:28 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(494): eth6: Deauth_ind (NODE "A" 5GHz BACKHAUL MAC), status: 0, reason: Previous authentication no longer valid (2), rssi:-54
Dec 17 10:53:29 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(511): eth6: Disassoc (NODE "A" 5GHz BACKHAUL MAC), status: 0, reason: Disassociated because sending station is leaving (or has left) BSS (8), rssi:0
Dec 17 10:53:39 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(530): eth6: Auth (NODE "A" 5GHz BACKHAUL MAC), status: Successful (0), rssi:-54