What's new

Best NAS Solution for Client?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

NWtek

Occasional Visitor
Hello everyone,
I am new to the NAS arena and have a client who has a few parameters that I am trying to meet.

1) Needs to play nicely with both PC and MAC
2) Needs to have hot swap and/or eSATA (both would be a huge plus)
3) Needs to handle 1-2 TB's of data
4) Needs to support Raid 1 or 5
5) Needs to have software to manage daily incremental backups to two separate hot swap drives (or to the external eSATA... or all 3) so that they can be taken off site for data safety in case of a disaster at their facility.

Essentially they have a lot of sensitive data that needs to be saved and backed up as easily as possible for everyone in their facility. RAID 1 or 5, hot swap and/or eSATA is very important along with automated incremental backups.

So far I have been looking at this model:

http://www.synology.com/us/products/DS1511+/spec.php

and this one:

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-reviews/31403-new-to-the-charts-qnap-ts-419p

Do you have any recommendations for this NAS newbie? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Ease of use and implementation also plays a huge factor in this for me so advice on products with "easy" software would be great as well :)

Please let me know if I have not listed any other important factors so that I do not miss anything.

Thanks everyone.

Hot Swapping for the purposes of backup is not an option with a NAS. By hot swapping you will break the RAID and force rebuild. During the rebuild process your array is exposed to total loss. Only in the case of RAID 1 can data from a broken array be easily recovered.