What's new

Could Asuswrt Merlin support wireless client mode?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

eric wong

New Around Here
Hi, I'm new to SNB.
Operation Modes in Asuswrt Merlin are wireless router, bridge, ap, media bridge. But there is no wireless client mode, Could it be added?
In my case, I have a EPON router provide by ISP on floor 1 and AC68U on floor 2, I want to use AC68U connect to EPON router as wireless client via 2.4G, and act as wireless router via 5G. Have to set my cellphones and laptops under AC68U NAT, because my ISP has a limit of 4 clients under EPON router, I have more than 4 wireless devices.
Thank you so much.

I doubt that the GUI is capable. The firmware includes wpa_supplicant though, so acting as a client should be very possible, but you would need to do most configuring via SSH/telnet.

I doubt that the GUI is capable. The firmware includes wpa_supplicant though, so acting as a client should be very possible, but you would need to do most configuring via SSH/telnet.
Thank you for your reply. But which variable should I configure? In Openwrt it is in a config file, is Asuswrt-merlin aslo in a config file? or in nvram just like DD-WRT or Tomato.
Sorry for my poor English. If you can list the file or variables which I should config, It would be very nice.

I do not know. I doubt that your goal can be accomplished by nvram vars alone.

My only experience is with using wpa_supplicant on my desktop-PC to connect to my AP as a client. (Something like "wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D nl80211,wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf". The documentation for wpa_supplicant is good, in the form of a stock .conf file explaining almost every option (100+).