1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Entware Transmission with proxy

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Sptz, Jan 14, 2020.

  1. Sptz

    Sptz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Hi everyone,

    I've been using Transmission after installing amtm -> Entware and I've noticed in the config file that there's no mention of anything proxy related. I wanted to use this through a proxy from my VPN. Is there a way to do that? Or any other, possibly easier way, to route just this specific pkg through VPN?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

    SomeWhereOverTheRainBow Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    This is a very good question, as I also run transmission locally. I have always pondered this same line of thought.
     
    Sptz likes this.
  3. Sptz

    Sptz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Apparently Transmission has deprecated proxy support which is worrying. Is there a way to route transmission to tunnel through OpenVPN within the router? So, have ONLY Transmission itself tunneled whilst everything else goes through WAN as normally.
     
  4. Martineau

    Martineau Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    UK
    Transmission via VPN Client
    Doesn't sound dubious at all?:cool:;)
     
    L&LD and Sptz like this.
  5. Sptz

    Sptz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Thank you so much!! It's working now, there's only one issue. I don't want to post there as it's a necrothread so you or someone might have an idea?

    Basically the Port 51413 is now showing as Closed in Transmission RPC settings. Where as before this it was Open so it's having a harder time finding a broader range of peers.

    I already had this in the /jffs/scripts/firewall-start

    Code:
    iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --destination-port 51413 -j ACCEPT
    iptables -I INPUT -p udp --destination-port 51413 -j ACCEPT
    I added after that:

    Code:
    ifconfig br0:0 192.168.1.10 up
    Is this an expected behavior due to using OpenVPN? Or is there something I'm missing?

    Thanks
     
  6. Martineau

    Martineau Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    UK
    Most VPN ISPs prohibit unsolicited P2P torrents.
    So you may only run Transmission as a passive rather than as an active peer via the VPN.
     
  7. Sptz

    Sptz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    I'm using NordVPN which I thought allowed P2P as it states on their website. I've tried changing to another server and still the same thing. Could this have anything to do with the boot up order? Or even, as I stated above in the firewall-start config having the IP aliasing after the port? Could that have anything to do with it?

    Since this is a port that is supposedly being whitelisted in the Firewall of the router, shouldn't say Open regardless?
     
  8. Martineau

    Martineau Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    UK
    upload_2020-1-15_18-6-50.png

    Well as the above is nearly 18-months old they may have in the interim changed their stance, but you could ENABLE the recently added VPN Client feature

    upload_2020-1-15_18-18-12.png

    but if unsolicited inbound access is being blocked by NordVPN, then the router's firewall rules won't even see the requests.

    P.S. I believe NordVPN states they are 'P2P friendly' which is technically true.



     
  9. Sptz

    Sptz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    I just bought one month of Mullvad which supposedly supports port opening. Followed the guide here: https://mullvad.net/en/help/asus-merlin-and-mullvad-vpn/

    Changed the ports in Transmission and firewall as well etc. Nothing, even with inbound firewall ON. Transmission still reports the now provided port by Mullvad as Closed.

    Update: Needed a reboot! It's now fully working!
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020