What's new

Extending Range between buildings

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

qwertyyp

New Around Here
hi. like the site. lots of helpful info.

i am youth pastor and am trying to get internet extended across our church campus to another building. the buildings are old and we'd have to spend a fortune to get any internet to this building (think digging up the parking lot)...

i am have a little experience w/ networking but i'm no expert.

anyway, the buildings are about 250 feet apart. the one with internet is brick construction the signal from our WRT160NL is pretty week just in the building.

Sometimes we can get a faint signal to our other building but it is not reliable at all. We would like to use remote desktop in this building, occasional streaming from security cameras and some basic lan functions (occasional file transfers & printing).

It was suggested that we install an outdoor "panel" type antenna on the building with internet. However, I am concerned that it will not help with the Rx side of things (someone else told me that the antenna would only help with Tx)...

would an external antenna help with coverage to the other building or am i better off to get some other router?

also, what hardware should i put in the other building as the bridge?

clearly, i'm very confused....
thanks in advance for your help & advice!

~gary

Last edited:
thanks for the quick reply and the input.

that is somewhat similar to what i was thinking of doing.... i'm really hoping to keep it as simple as possible. in that thread someone mentioned using a pair of outdoor ap's. since the buildings are fairly close together do you think i'll need two or would one work with a regular ap inside the receiving building?