What's new

Favorite: Netgear ReadyNAS Duo

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

venture996

Occasional Visitor
I've been using this for six months at home, ever since my single drive NAS bit the dust. Its a great unit, although I only make use of a fraction of it's capabilities, primarily as networked file service used for automated backup and shared files (mixed MAC OS and Windows XP users).

Pros: Very simple setup. I dropped in a second drive to get redundancy and the unit did the rest. Ditto for putting it on a UPS; just plugged in thte USB cable and it took over. Its been very reliable, not a single minute of downtime. Supports all the clients well. It email out reports anytime there is a problem (basically, never for me).

Cons: Not much to complain about. MAC users are not using TimeMachine as setup is somewhat complicated with this NAS. A pending software update from Netgear reportedly improves that and I will update this thread when I've tested it out.

In summary, it cost me less than $500 with dual 750gb drives and it works perfectly with no effort by me. That's what I needed, peace of mind that my data was backed up.

Last edited:
ReadyNAS and AD?

I noticed that you mentioned WindowsXP users there.

Is the ReadyNAS integrated into the AD or using some other kind of shares / security?

Thanks!

the duo can not be integrated into AD (other readynas models can). its using user authentication. basically the same as non-domain windows xp.

+ 1 : Netgear ReadyNAS Duo

+ 1 for the ReadyNAS Duo

I paid about £140 for my Duo, it came with two 500Gb drives from Netgear as part of a promotion (small error on their part sending my two drives, should have only been one).