What's new

Feature request: Advanced parental controls!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

apenney

New Around Here
First I want to thank you for all the work you put into your firmware, it's one of the reasons I decided to buy a new asus router to replace my old WDNR3700!

One of the things I plan to do via a series of bad shell scripts might be more broadly applicable and I thought I'd see just how difficult it would be to add to the official web interface (I am a bad programmer and I haven't touched html since html3 but I can try to add this myself).

Use case:

I want to build a separate wifi network for my kids that allows me to create a number of "sub profiles" and apply various filters to them so that I can turn on and off all their internet capable devices.

I then wish to be able to temporarily unblock an individual kids internet use for a set amount of time. (Basically this is a "you show me your homework and you get time online instead of trying to lie to me and play xbox forever" system!)

The key things I want to be able to do are:

Add multiple devices (by MAC) to a kids bucket.
Set a whitelist of IPs to allow access to (say, Khan Academy).
Block all other 80/443 traffic outbound.
Hit up the web interface, click on one of the kids in Parental Control and then give them access to a certain amount of time.

I had basically just planned to statically assign all their devices in DHCP and write a script that I called like # unblock --kid=blah --time=2h and then just constantly maintain the list of ips to block/unblock when running the scripts.