What's new

firmware assigning wrong hostname to router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

benk91

New Around Here
Firmware: Merlin 386.11
Equipment: RT-AC88U, RT-AC68U, RTAC66U B1 (daisy chained, aimesh w ethernet backhaul)

Forgive me if this is the wrong topic to post in! I'm very new to home networking, despite having created a complicated setup.
I've been using GPT-4 to help me troubleshoot this issue.

I live in a 2 floor apartment and have 3 diasy-chained hardwired asus routers.
Wired to the ONT is a router with IP 192.168.1.1 that I'll call .1/Bedroom/88U

That leads to router 192.168.1.68, which I'll call .68/Basement/68U.

Then back upstairs to a guest room which needs its own router because of the materials of the walls (Guestroom/686U, not part of this question).

They're set up as aimesh nodes but I tether most of my devices to each router because most are stationary, and because I experience a lot of stability issues.
I run a lot of smarthome devices (total. of about 80 wireless clients connected at a given time), so I set it up this way. Most of them use 2.4ghz.

I often experience authentication issues with the basement router, #2 in the chain.
Devices tethered to that router drop off. My smartphone becomes unable to authenticate on the 2.4ghz SSID (even with correct password) and it takes a reboot of the router to fix this. I imagine this is also happening with the smart devices drooping off.

At the advice of GPT4, I ssh'd into the router and read the logs.
This error keeps coming up:

Code:
dnsmasq-dhcp[1447]: not giving name RT-AC68U-E938 to the DHCP lease of 192.168.1.68 because the name exists in /etc/hosts with address 192.168.1.1