What's new

Help finding a solution for novice looking to up their network gear

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Donkomo

Occasional Visitor
Hello guys and gals,

I am a beginner- novice to network security and the technicals of routers modems and firewalls. I am looking to step up my equipment to something with some more customization for network security, scrutiny, segmentation/isolation of my devices to increase my privacy while still being fairly easy to setup and maintain. I’m also looking to setup AdGuard home DNS and not sure what the best way to do this without needing to add extra equipment to my network.

I’ve been having Wi-Fi connection issues with my ASUS router connected to my isp gateway and looking for other options.

My current devices and setup.

AT&T Fiber to the node 100/20->

Arris BGW 210 AT&T Gateway->

ASUS Wi-Fi router AC-RT68U(ASUS-WRT)

I have five people in the house and 19 devices on the network, which are connected by Wi-Fi to the ASUS router and a Synology NAS which is the only device connected by Ethernet to the ASUS.

All devices in the home:

Laptops (3)

Phones (6)

Synolgy NAS (1)

IP cameras (7)

Printer (1)

Scanner(1)

I have to use the ATT provided gateway and I have it setup
behind my ASUS router with the Wi-Fi off on the Arris Gateway. I have not enabled ATT s version of bridge mode called "IP passthrough” , which isn’t a true bridge and still leaves me double NATd and I get slower speeds when I enable it. But that’s okay because I have no need for port forwarding or VPN currently.

I have tried to add guest mode on my ASUS but it still allows devices to access the ATT Gatesy web gui login. It does not isolate access to other devices on my LAN.