What's new

Help to diagnose a problem

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

DCS17

New Around Here
I am a self taught complete network novice. So forgive me if this is a stupid set up! All advice gratefully received.

I am in UK and use 4G LTE for internet. I have a TP-Link TL-MR6400 with sim card. Ethernet cable from LAN output to an Orbi RBR50 Internet port input. This then has 3 satellites. Running Voxel firmware. TP Link is 10.0.0.1 and Orbi is 192.168.1.1 with 255.255.255.0 subnet. I also have a TPLink Archer C50 set as a wireless extender for the Orbi wireless network too. Usually 30-35 devices attached to the Orbi network (mix of wired & wireless).
All works well, EXCEPT that periodically (once every day or couple of days) the Orbi loses internet access partially.
By that I mean I can Ping out OK. A weather station that feeds Wunderground continues OK. An ADSB receiver feeding data remains connected. But I cannot browse the internet either using IP address or http(s) and IOT devices lose connection.

I've spent ages trying to figure out what is going wrong and what I need to do to prevent it happening. But to no avail.
I simply don't have the necessary knowledge - and despite google, I cant turn up anything similar for advice.
So I post here in desperation!

I have the Orbi set as the TPLink DMZ Host IP and I've tried both fixed IP for the Orbi and using TPLink DHCP to issue a reserved address to Orbi. Neither makes any difference.

To restore a working connection I dont need to reboot anything (although rebooting either the Orbi or TPLink will restore things) I simply go to the Orbi Internet Setup page, change nothing but just click "Apply". I dont know what that actually does, but connection is usually restored.