What's new

Medium(ish) system advice

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

danshome

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I'm fairly new to NASes, but I've been taking the time to do a bit of research before plunging in. The problem is that I'm now down to a tough decision of exactly what model to choose and could use a bit of friendly advice based on people's experiences (and whether what I've read online actually reflects what I want the system to do)!

So, first off - requirements. I'm looking for a system to sit attached to my home network, probably in the living room (but in a cupboard, so while noise is an issue, it's not the be all and end all). I'm looking to store a fair old amount of media (videos, pictures, music) as well as personal files - as a result of which, I reckon that I'm really looking for somewhere in the region of 2-3Tb (2Tb is realistically current needs, 3 is for future expansion).

I'm hoping to watch the videos on my XBox 360, which is obviously going to be directly connected to the network. I know most systems offer some sort of UPnP/DLNA server, so hopefully that should be pretty seamless. iTunes availability is also good. On the other hand I couldn't give two hoots about photo sharing capabilities - I just need to be able to access them and can handle management myself. Similarly I don't really need a webserver or related capabililties, as I'm not planning on the system being accessible outside of the network.