What's new

NAS for Plex?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

afterburn999

New Around Here
So I am really new to this and not really sure what I need.

I have several 4-5 TB drives that I usually just plug into my shield TV and watch shows and movies on. Is there a way I can just toss these into a big enclosure so it shows as one big drive and I can plug into my shield?

I have the funds to set up NAS or whatever I may need but it's really only for the one TV and all I do is transfer files from my PC to the drive. There will be no transcoding to other devices or anyone streaming outside of the house.

what you have is the most simple approach and least costly, particularly if only one user. A NAS might benefit multiple user access and multi service at the same time like any other networked server..

Once you get a NAS, then you have to create adequate backup of the NAS - either duplicate hardware or additional disks to copy the NAS data to. A NAS, of itself, is not backup.

I have several 4-5 TB drives that I usually just plug into my shield TV and watch shows and movies on. Is there a way I can just toss these into a big enclosure so it shows as one big drive and I can plug into my shield?
Generally, a NAS is the simplest way to accomplish this goal. However, if you want to use existing drives, they will have to be formatted in the NAS, therefore you will need to copy the data off at least one before you can start the process.

A 2-bay NAS is a great starting point and relatively inexpensive. It also allows for other future uses, backups, etc that may not be important now, but may be in the future.