What's new

New ISP, Phone apps don't work over wifi

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Spaded21

New Around Here
Hello, new to the forums and I have a pretty weird issue going on. I work in IT for a managed service provider, but I'm no expert.

I live in a small town so ISPs are very limited. I switched this week from AT&T DSL (not U-Verse, plain old 3Mbps DSL) to Kraus, a local cable provider. I believe Cogent may be the underlying carrier. I never had any problems with AT&T other than the speed. I have an Asus RT-N56U with the latest official firmware (3.0.0.4.374_979) and it has been problem free with the AT&T DSL.

Since getting Kraus, a lot of apps on my phone don't work over my wifi. Facebook, Amazon, Pandora, Chase Bank are the ones I have had problems with so far. I can use them with the browser on my phone just fine, and everything works on my laptop. I didn't change anything in my router other than WAN settings (from PPPoE to DHCP) and it's happening on my wife's phone as well. I have a Droid DNA and she has a GS3. Everything works fine on other wifi networks as well as the mobile network.

I swapped out the N56U with an old Linksys WRT54GL with DD-WRT firmware on it (DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/22/09) mini) and I got the exact same symptoms.

I ran a packet sniffing app called Shark (modeled after WireShark) on my phone and found a couple IPs from the Facebook app. 69.171.235.48 and 31.13.74.49. I can ping these from my laptop and my phone successfully.

I tried to assign my phone a static IP address and have tried different DNS servers, such as Google and OpenDNS but there was no change.