What's new

RS232 Serial Port from USB

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

latenitetech

Regular Contributor
Newbie here, acquired an RT-AC68U a month or so ago, installed AsusWRT-Merlin, currently running 380.64. I've installed entware, and am running Samba, minidlna and pyTivo as media servers (they work great!). My latest project is to get 'heyu' (an X10 home automation package) installed and running. It requires a simple RS232 connection to an external device (an X-10 CM11A controller). I have a couple of USB->serial adapters, both with Prolific chip sets. When I plug either one into the USB2 port, they of course come up as a "GSM modem" per the default drivers built into the router.

So my relatively simple question is, short of rebuilding the kernel myself (obviously a huge learning curve for a newbie), is there a way to get the router to allow me to use that USB->serial adapter as a vanilla 'com' port?

From what I've picked up scouring the internet, the standard solution seems to be to acquire a properly built pl2303.ko file, then use modprobe to remove the current 'option.ko' and install the 'pl2303.ko' module in its place. OK, I can handle that, but I can't for the life of me find a current pl2303.ko file. Are there any repositories for such drivers?

Looking at this post from 2014:
http://www.snbforums.com/threads/libftdi-usbserial.18231/#post-127901
it appears perhaps those extra modules used to be included in the firmware? I can't seem to find them if they're still there.

OR, could someone build and supply me such a driver file? (I would be extremely grateful.)