What's new

RT-AC86U mesh node FTP issue

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dididocky

New Around Here
Hi all,
I am new to this so please be go easy on the tech terms lol. I apologise in advance if I don't fully understand what you mean.

So my issue is this. I have 2 RT-AC86U routers, one as main and one as AI mesh node. Each has 1 USB drive attached for FTP access. I have had them working ok up until 2 days ago when I updated the firmware in both routers. the Node needed resetting as it no longer would connect to any wireless devices.
With the node reset and the devices all working again, I lost the ftp server settings for the USB. I have spent a lot of hours now trying to get this back, not sure if its just my brain not working or I am missing something obvious, I done the port forwarding and ftp setting on the node (see attached screenshots).
I have always been able to connect to the main router USB via my phone on port 21 and still can do that, it is just the node USB that I have an issue with. I have managed to connect to the node now using port 1031 as the port setting on my phone app but this then gives me a network error message,
I know that I have input my user name and password correctly in the phone app setting as if I purposely put it in wrong I get the cannot connect to host message as before.
The only way I can get this to work and see and access the files on the node USB is to put the node in a DMZ.

I don't ever recall having to do this before now and I am concerned about the security of all the devices connecting to that node.
so my question really is, is this ok or am I missing a setting so that I don't have to use the DMZ?

hope that helps to explain my situation and I appreciate any and all help I can get